India Politics

Kairana bypoll election 2018: BJP fields Mriganka Singh against Opposition’s Tabassum Hasan

Kairana bypoll election 2018: BJP fields Mriganka Singh against Opposition’s Tabassum Hasan

The Bharatiya Janata Party appoints Mriganka Singh, daughter of late BJP MP Hukum Singh, as its candidate for Kairana Lok Sabha bypoll to be held on May 28. The Rashtriya Lok Dal has already given the ticket to Tabassum Hasan, wife of former BSP MP Munawwar Hasan, for bypoll. Hasan is likely to emerge as a joint candidate of the opposition including SP-BSP-RJD and other parties, to defeat the BJP in Kairana. The bypoll was required following the death of Hukum Singh, who was elected as BJP MP in 2014 Lok Sabha Election. Mriganka had lost the Kairana assembly seat in the 2017 Uttar Pradesh polls to Nahid Hasan of the Samajwadi Party.

In the 2014 general elections, Hukum Singh seized 5,65,909 votes and defeated SP’s candidate Nahid Hasan who got 3,29,081 votes. In the 2017 UP Assembly elections, Nahid Hasan tried his luck once again from this constituency and defeated Mriganka by 21,162 votes. The Kairana parliamentary constituency, nearly about 16 lakh voters, consists of five assembly segments including Thanabhawan, Kairana, Gangoh, Shamli, and Nakur.

The Kairana Parliament seat is crucial for the ruling BJP government as well as the opposition parties, as many believe that it may set the winning tone for the 2019 parliamentary elections. After Kairana, The bypoll election will also be held for the Noorpur assembly seat which fell vacant the death of BJP MLA Lokendra Singh Chauhan. The BJP will put an extra effort to retain their both Kairana and Noorpur seats to send a positive message to voters, party workers and the opposition that the drubbing it got in the recent Gorakhpur and Phulpur bye-elections is now history.

Opposition Candidates for Kairana and Noorpur Assembly bypolls

A day after the meeting between RLD vice-president Jayant Chaudhary and Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav here, the two state parties decided to field SP’s Tabassum Hassan and Niam-ul-Hassan on Saturday for the Kairana Lok Sabha and Noorpur Assembly bypolls, respectively. Tabassum will contest the election on RLD ticket, while Niam-ul-Hassan will join the bypolls with support from RLD and BSP.


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment