Vice President Election 2017: India To Get New Vice President On August 5

Vice President Election 2017: India To Get New Vice President On August 5
Written by Shubham Jain

The Chief Election Commissioner Syed Nasim Ahmad Zaidi on Thursday announced that the elections for the post of Vice President of India will held on August 5, 2017. The results will be announced on the same day. The national law makers have the right to vote in this election. which means that a total of 790 parliamentarian i.e., total number of members in both the houses (Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha) of the Parliament will cast their votes to choose the next Vice President of the country.

The term of current Vice Prsident Dr. Hamid Ansari is expiring on August 10 and the elections for the new Vice President had to be held before the expiration of his term. The two-time Vice President Hamid Ansari was elected in 2007 and 2012 consecutively.

July 18 is the last day to file the nomination papers and the papers will be scrutinized on July 19. Candidates will have to pay a security deposit of Rs 15,000 at the time of nomination. Result will also be declared on August 5 only. While the current vice president Dr. Hamid Ansari will remain in the office till August 10. The Election Commission has appointed Rajya Sabha Secretary General Shamsher Sharif returning officer for the polls. The elected candidate will become the 15 Vice President of India.

The process of election for the post of President of India is already going on. Ruling party BJP had made Former Governer of Bihar Ram Nath Kovind as its Presidential Candidate while the opposition have chose former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar as its candidate to counter the move of the BJP of selecting a Dalit as its Presidential Candidate. The President Election will held on July 17.

About the author

Shubham Jain