India Lifestyle

Independence Day 2018 Delhi road diversion and route restrictions

Independence Day 2018 Delhi road diversion and route restrictions
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Delhi Traffic route Diversion and Alternative routes for Independence Day: Ahead of 72nd Independence Day celebrations on 15 August, Delhi Traffic Police has announced that there will be some traffic restrictions and route divergence will be followed on tomorrow at Independence Day. Delhi Traffic police have imposed some important restrictions on the movement of vehicular traffic on 6 roads around Red Fort on Wednesday at 15th August 2018. However, some buses will also be diverted in Old Delhi and New Delhi on the occasion of 15th August 2018. Buses terminating at Red Fort, Jama Masjid, and Delhi main railway station will be diverted tomorrow. However, alternative routes for buses will still remain open to bus stations, railway stations and hospitals near the venue of Independence Day function.

The Movement of goods vehicles and Transportation vehicles between Nizamuddin bridge and Wazirabad bridge will be prohibited from 12 midnight of August 14 to 11 am on August 15 and Inter-state buses like (Delhi to Punjab, Delhi to Haryana, Delhi to Rajasthan)will not be allowed between Maharana Pratap ISBT and Sarai Kale Khan ISBT from 4 am to 11 am. Local city buses, including of DTC, will not move on Ring Road from 4 am to 11 am on August 15, between Hanuman Setu and Bhairon Road T-point and take alternative routes available.

Roads which will be blocked Tomorrow

Day Timings from 5 am to 9 am:

  • Netaji Subhash Marg from Delhi Gate to Chatta Rail
  • Lothian Road from GPO Delhi to Chatta Rail
  • Nishad Raj Marg from Ring Road to Netaji Subash Marg
  • Esplanade Road and its Link Road to Netaji Subash Marg
  • S.P. Mukherjee Marg from HC Sen Marg to Yamuna Bazar Chowk
  • Chandni Chowk Road from Fountain Chowk to Red Fort

List of roads that may be avoided by vehicles which do not have parking labels:

Tilak Marg, Jawaharlal Nehru Marg, Mathura Road, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, Subhash Marg, and Ring Road between Nizamuddin Bridge and ISBT bridge.

Alternative route for North-South region

  1. Aurobindo Marg,
  2. Connaught Place-Minto Road,
  3. Ring Road-ISBT,
  4. Nizamuddin bridge

Alternative route for East-West region

  1. DND-NH24,
  2. Vikas Marg,
  3. DDU Marg,
  4. Boulevard Road-Barfkhana.

Independence Day: Unavailability of Parking Facility at Metro Stations

  • from 6 am on August 14 till 2 pm on August 15 


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment