By-Election 2017 : BJP Leads 6 Out of 10, AAP Out of Touch with Ground Realities

By-Election 2017 : BJP Leads 6 Out of 10, AAP Out of Touch with Ground Realities

The votes which were sealed on sunday for byelections in 11 constituencies of 8 states were counted this morning and the results are being announced. While BJP leads the tally with the seats of Rajouri Garden (Delhi), Dhemaji (Assam), Dholpur (Rajasthan), Ater (Madhya Pradesh), Bandhavgarh (Madhya Pradesh) and Bhoranj (Himachal Pradesh), Congress follows on a second with two wins in Karnataka (Nanjangud and Gundlupet). The seat in West Bengal has been won by TMC and JMM leads the one in Jharkhand respectively.

These byelections have on one hand again established BJP unstoppable bandwagon of victory after 2014 parliamentary elections (with the exception of the disaster in Bihar), while the defeat in Rajouri Garden following the failure in Punjab and Goa, the hopes of AAP from upcoming MCD elections have gone down with Manish Sisodia commenting about “need to revisit people connect”. It is to be noted that the Rajouri Garden seat fell vacant after AAP’s Jarnail Singh quitting to contest Punjab elections. This seems to have upset the locals and resulted in the stupendous win for BJP’s Manjinder Singh Sirsa (with Congress coming in second and AAP a distant third). The results have upped the spirits of the ruling party which is hoping to sweep the MCD elections to gain unanimous power in the nation capital.


The by-elections in Karnataka were on one hand a litmus test for Congress to test their waters for the upcoming General Assembly Elections in 2018, while for BJP, it was a power struggle given their over all sweeping performance in Election 2017. Nanjangud a part of Mysore, home for Karnataka CM Siddaramaih, Congress had put its charge in Kalale N. Keshavamurthy to fight against BJP’s ex CM BS Yeddyurappa’s strike, with the ex Congressman V Srinivas Prasad (he quit Congress when his ex friend and now rival the state CM Siddaramaih dropped him from Cabinet) in charge. And the move seems to benefit Congress here in Nanjangud, where Keshavamurthy (who interestingly fought the last election on JDS ticket) has defeated the BJP candidate.

The two seats of Madhya Pradesh and one of Rajasthan were expected to be won by BJP given the later one is the home turf for CM Vasundhara Raje, While BJP’s Ranoj Pegu has beaten Babul Sonowal of the Congress by over 9,000 votes to win Dhemaji. The result for J&K byelections are yet to be announced.

The results have been pouring in for these elections, and the post shall be updated shortly as more wins are announced.

Here are the Names of winning candidates of BJP, Congress, AAP, TMC.


Constituency name



Madhya Pradesh
Ater Arvind Singh Bhadoria BJP
Bandhavgarh Shivnarayan Singh BJP
Himachal Pradesh Bhoranj Anil Dhiman BJP
Assam Dhemaji Ranoj Pegu BJP
West Bengal Kanthi Dakshin Chandrima Bhattacharya TMC
Rajasthan Dholpur Shobha Rani Kushwaha BJP
Nanjangud Kalale Keshavamurthy Congress
Gundlupet Geeta Mahadeva Prasad Congress
Jharkhand Litipara Simon Marandi JMM
Delhi Rajouri Garden Manjinder Singh Sirsa BJP
State Constituency name Leading/Winner Party

About the author

Shruti Bhatt

Shruti Bhatt is an engineering graduate, consumed with her passions day in and day out. An avid moviemaniac, a foodie, a bibliophile, and coffee-fashion-music enthusiast, Ms. Bhatt is on the way of becoming a raconteur - the word she is most fascinated with.

Leave a Comment