India Politics

Meet Ankiv Basoya: 2018 Delhi University Students’ Union President

Meet Ankiv Basoya: 2018 Delhi University Students’ Union President

DUSU Elections Result 2018: The results of Delhi University Students’ Union Elections have been declared. The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, a student organization of RSS, won 3 out of 4 seats. Congress student unit, NSUI has got one seat. ABVP candidate Ankit Baisoya President, Shakti Singh Vice President, and Jyoti Choudhary have won the joint secretary post. NSUI’s Sunny Chhillar defeated ABVP’s Ankiv Basoya with the presidential nomination by 60 votes. At the same time, ABVP candidate Shakti Singh won the VP seat by 8500 votes. Jyoti Chaudhary for Joint Secretary post has won by 1700 votes.

ABVP candidate, Ankit Basoya, who won the presidency, got 20,457 votes. ABVP candidate Shakti Singh got 23,046 votes for Vice President. Joint Secretary Jyoti Chaudhary, who won the Joint Secretary post, got 19,353 votes. NSUI candidate Akash Chaudhary, who won the Secretariat post, got 20,198 votes.

This election of the Delhi University Students Union was considered as significant before the four states’ assembly and Lok Sabha elections. It was said that the results of this election will show that the youth of the country is still in favor of Narendra Modi and BJP or not. However, it seems that the youth of the Delhi University still believe in BJP.

In the Zakir Hussain College (Evening) Congress student union election, National Students Union of India (NSUI) wins the post of president. Here, NSUI won the election by a margin of 250 votes, while Isa’s Nabi Ali Alam won the post of Central Counselor in the college. At the same time, Zakir Hussain College (Morning) has hoisted saffron grasses. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) student organization Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has won the presidential post. Students were voted for the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) on September 12. For DUSU Polls lIVE Updates, read full story here.

This time the student union elections are very interesting. In a large level, ABVP and NSUI are getting a tough fight from AISA and CYSS. The Left Front and the Aam Aadmi Party’s student body have formed an alliance in this year’s DUSU elections. In such a situation, ABVP and NSUI are likely to get a strong collision.

DUSU Election Results 2018

5:45 PM IST- Counting has started from 7th round now,  DUSU election committee spokesperson Pinky Sharma said.

4:45 PM IST- DUSU Election Result 2018: ABVP demands counting to resume

The Congress-affiliated NSUI on Thursday demanded that fresh polling be held for the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) election, while the RSS’s student wing, the ABVP, wanted the counting of votes, which has been suspended, to be resumed.

11:52 AM IST- Madhurima Kundu, Secretary DU AISA rejected the reports saying, “We don’t believe in these updates. We are confident in winning the presidential and joint secretary post.

11:30 AM IST- NSUI is leading on Presidential Post, while ABVP is leading on Vice-President, Secretary and Joint Secretary post.

11:00 AM IST- Ankiv Basoya and Sunny Chhillar of NSUI and ABVP, respectively, are battling each other for the post of President.

 10:00 AM IST- Candidates, who are in the Fray of DUSU Election 2018

  Candidates in fray for the post of president

  • Ankiv Baisoya (ABVP) (MA Buddhist Studies)- Winner
  • Sunny Chillar (NSUI) (BA Sanskrit, Shivaji college)
  • Abhigyan (CYSS-AISA) (BA political science, Ramjas)
  • Akashdeep tripathi (SFI) (MA Buddhist studies)
  • Preeti Chauhan ((INSO) (BA Programme, Shivaji college)
  • Shakti Singh (ABVP)- Winner
  • Leena (NSUI)
  • Anshika Singh (AISA-CYSS)
  • Deepak (INSO)
  • Neelanjita Biswas (SFI)
  • Sudhir Dedha (ABVP)
  • Aakah Choudhary (NSUI)- Winner
  • Chandra Mani Dev (CYSS-AISA)
  • Subash Bhatt (SFI)

Candidates contesting for the post of Joint Secretary

  • · Jyoti Chaudhary (ABVP)-Winner
  • · Saurabh Yadav (NSUI)
  • · Sreejith K (SFI)
  • · Sunny Tanwar (CYSS-AISA)


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment