Cabinet Committee on Security to have two women now

With appointment of Nirmala Sitharaman as the new Defence Minister on Sunday, the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS), will now have two women ministers.

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj is member of the CCS, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, which is responsible for decisions on external and internal security. Its other members are Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

Sitharaman was on Sunday elevated as cabinet minister in the reshuffle and expansion of the council of ministers and given the defence portfolio.

She is the first full-time woman defence minister of the country after late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi had twice held charge of defence portfolio – from December 1 to 21, 1975 and January 14, 1980 to January 15, 1982.

About the author


IANS, also known as Indo-Asian News Service is a private news agency. IANS covers topics related to politics, entertainment, sports, general and world news etc.