India Politics

Bihar By-polls election results: RJD Wins the Jehanabad Assembly constituency

Bihar By-polls election results: RJD Wins the Jehanabad Assembly constituency
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Bihar’s leading Party RJD(Rashtriya Janata Dal)’s Krishna Mohan wins the Jehanabad Assembly seat by 31,000 votes. The seat was previously held by the RJD when it contested in alliance with Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal-United. Now, the JD(U) is in alliance with the BJP and has put up its candidate to take on the RJDs nominee. RJD candidate Kumar Krishna Mohan wins by 35036 votes. There is another political force here – Hindustani Awam Morcha-Secular (HAM-S) of Jitan Ram Manjhi, the former Bihar chief minister. He recently quit the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and joined the alliance of RJD and Congress. Manjhi hails from neighbouring Gaya districts and wields significant influence in Jehanabad.

RJDs Krishna Mohan was contesting against JD(U) candidate Abhiram Singh, who had won this seat in 2010 when his party JDU was in alliance with the BJP. After Eight years down, the alliance is back, and he was contesting again, failed to secure his seat in this constituency. On the other hand, BJP succeeds to win Bhabua Assembly seat. BJP’s Rinky Rani win this seat by 13,130 votes in Bhabua. This is the first electoral battle in the state since Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, head of JD(U), broke out the alliance with the RJD and the Indian National Congress and joined the NDA Alliance last year.

The Bharatiya Janata Party also got defeated in two key parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh, which are Gorakhpur and Phulpur –were vacated by Chief Minister Yogi Aditynath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya in April 2017. Both the seats were a fame fight for the BJP. Yogi Adityanath has held Gorakhpur since 1998; he was the youngest MP at 26 and three times before that by his mentor Advaidyanath.

Lalu Prasad Yadav’s daughter Misa Bharti says current results in Bihar bypolls have announced the end of Nitish Kumar’s politics, Bihar’s youth cleared the way of RJD for the LokSabha Election 2018. In 2018 UP and Bihar by-polls elections BJP Were succeed to seal only one seat, by Pinky Pandey, who won the Bhabua seat by 15,490 votes. After this victory, West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo–Mamta Banerjee gave a congratulate to RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav on Twitter. With this Alliance, it is not cleared yet, with whom RJD will Contest the 2019 Loksabha Election?

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment