India Politics

7th Pay Commission: Govt Employees could get a big new gain soon

Written by Abhishek Lohia

Central employees under the seventh pay commission can soon have another chance to celebrate. If everything is fine, then the Modi government can give them a new gift. However, the Central Government has not taken any decision to increase the salary of central employees more than the recommendations of the Seventh Pay Commission. Also, the attitude is not clear about the fitment factor. But, things can change a bit. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is preparing to cheer the central employees in another way. According to information from sources, there are reports that the central government can give exemption to the Central employees under the Leave Travel Concession (LTC) to go abroad.

Some top government officials say the central government may allow its employees to go abroad on the basis of their LTC. A proposal in this regard has been finalized by the Labor Ministry. The Ministry has sought suggestions from the concerned departments including Home, Tourism, Civil Aviation and Expenditure as soon as possible. However, it is not yet decided when the recommendations of the 7th Pay Commission will be applicable. Central Government employees eligible under the LTC are discharged and the money spent on their tickets gets refunded. Even if the government is trying to please the central staff, the central staff will still prefer to increase the salaries rather than the 7th Pay Commission’s recommendations. Hopefully, the government can soon make big announcements for central employees.

The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) has proposed to include five Central Asian countries – Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan – under the LTC scheme in the proposed scheme. Officials said that the goal of this step is to increase the footprint of India in the strategically important Central Asian region. Earlier in March, the government had said that it has postponed the proposal to LTC to allow its employees to travel to the SAARC countries. For the regional cooperation, South Asian Association (SAARC) is a group of eight nations, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The Modi government may announce a big announcement on August 15 for central employees, considering the upcoming elections. Apart from the recommendations of the Seventh Pay Commission, there is a possibility of retirement age announcement. However, no gesture has been given on behalf of the government.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment