India Politics

5 YSR Congress MPs resignation from Lok Sabha accepted, bypolls will not possible

All the five Lok Sabha Members of YSR Congress now free from the Lok Sabha, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has accepted their resignations. Previously all these 5 YSR Congress’ MPs has been done a hunger strike against the Centre’s “failure” to provide special category status to Andhra Pradesh. The 5 Lok Sabha Members including PV Midhun Reddy, YS Avinash Reddy, V Vara Prasada Rao, YV Subba Reddy, and Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy had been met Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan in her chamber and submitted their resignation letters on April 2018. They have given their resignations in the proper format and the speaker had to accept them, after due consultation with the MPs.

“I hereby tender the resignation of my seat in the house with immediate effect,” said the letters flaunted by YSR MPs. However, Immediately after the resignations, party chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy had challenged to TDP MPs to “resign and stand united with the people of AP in their rightful demand to give the special category status for Andhra Pradesh.”

No By-polls for these vacant seats

Now no-bypolls will be held for these seats, which means five seats is going to be vacant till 2019 General Elections. As per the Election Commission rules, bypolls held only if the balance term is more than one year. On June 4, the Lok Sabha has completed four years and from the date of acceptance of the resignations(today), it is less than one year, falling short of two days from June 6, which indicates that there would be no by-election for these 5 Lok Sabha Seats.

Now, their resignation has been accepted, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan will take a few weeks to send information to the Election Commission on the vacancies. It is up to Election Commission to take a call whether to hold the by-election or leave it. For Ruling NDA Alliance, there will no effect on them as they are in a proper majority.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment