India Politics

2018 West Bengal Panchayat Elections Result LIVE, TMC Leading in all 19 Districts, Congress-Left on third

The ruling Trinamool Congress is leading in all 20 districts with Panchayati Raj institutions. Counting of votes has begun across 20 districts. After the last date of filing nominations, the Election Commission had said that the TMC won 34% seats uncontested. In North Bengal, the poll counting has begun in Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, North Dinajpur, South Dinajpur, Jalpaiguri and Malda districts. The rural Gram Panchayat elections were held in 621 Zilla Parishads and 6,157 panchayat samitis, besides in 31,827-gram panchayats.

As Prime Minister Narendra Modi slammed the Mamata Banerjee government over violence issue in the panchayat polls in West Bengal and called it “murder of democracy,” the state’s ruling Trinamool Congress responded it by saying the PM had an “outburst of frustration.” Trinamool secretary general Partha Chatterjee said, “He should know that BJP goons killed 10 Trinamool workers in the panchayat polls. No BJP worker was killed.”

West Bengal Panchayat Elections LIVE Updates

12:30 PM IST-  Congress supporters have blocked NH-31 after accusing TMC-backed criminals of shooting one of their supporters during clashes outside a counting centre in South Dinajpur.

12:25 PM IST- BJP has won the Ganapur Gram Panchayat in Birbhum. TMC wants re-counting in that seat

12:20 PM IST– The West Bengal panchayat election, which has witnessed 25 deaths in poll-related violence so far, is being viewed as a warm-up match ahead of next year’s general elections

12:15 PM IST– Congress’ and Independent candidates not allowed to enter Rajarhat Shiksha Niketan counting centre

12:10 PM IST– Of the 48,650 seats in 3,358-gram panchayats, 16,814 were uncontested, and of the 9,217 seats in 341 panchayat samitis, 3,059 were uncontested. In the 20 zilla parishads, 203 of the 825 seats were uncontested, the sources said

12:00 PM IST– Out of the total 31,814 that were contested for, TMC has won 110 & is leading on 1,208, BJP has won 4 & is leading on 81, while CPI(M) has won 3 seats & has a lead on 58. Counting in progress

11:30 AM IST- Hakimul Islam, son of TMC leader Arabul Islam, has won in North Gazipur Panchayat Samity of Bhangar

11:00 AM IST- News of violence have reached from Bhagawangola counting centre at Murshidabad. Armed outsiders have been marching in the locality from the early hours of the day

10:30 AM IST- the ruling TMC is leading in all 20 districts which have the Panchayati Raj institutions in West Bengal.

10:00 AM IST- The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) in West Bengal has already won several seats in the gram panchayat polls. The candidates of the ruling TMC automatically won uncontested seats.

9:30 am IST- Repolling has been ordered in 10 booths in Hooghly, 28 booths in West Midnapore, 52 booths in Coochbehar, 63 booths in Murshidabad, 60 booths in Nadia, 59 booths in North 24 Parganas, 55 booths in Malda, 73 booths in Uttar Dinajpur and 26 in South 24 Parganas among others.

9:00 AM IST- Jhargram only district to have no repolling, Re-election is being held in 19 out of the 20 West Bengal districts for the Panchayati Raj institutions that went to the polls on 14 May. Jhargram is the only district where there would be no repolling.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment