National Film Awards 2018: Late Sridevi wins a posthumous Best actress for MOM, Newton wins best Hindi feature

National Film Awards 2018: Late Sridevi wins a posthumous Best actress for MOM, Newton wins best Hindi feature
Written by Abhishek Rana

The National Film Awards 2018 were announced today, as the Jury president, and director, Shekar Kapoor held a press conference to speak about the most prestigious awards of the Nation. Newton won the best Hindi feature film, while the Best feature film was awardsed to Village rockstars, an Assamese movie. The most significant recipient from all the winners was Sridevi, who won the posthumous Best actress for MOM. The movie, a revenge drama, had been released last year, and even though it got mixed reviews, Sridevi’s performance won acclaim from the critics. This is the first and only National award for the late actress, who has given some exceptional performances in her career. Riddhi Sen won best actor for Nagar Kirtan, while Divya Dutta was awarded the best supporting actress award for Irada. Baahubali: The conclusion won the award for most Popular movie, while Toilet: Ek Prem Katha won for best Choreography. The full list of awards is given below:

Best Feature Film:Village Rockstars (Assamese)
Best Actress: Sridevi for MOM Best Actor: Ridhhi Sen for Nagar Kirtan
Best Director: Jayaraj for Bhayanakam
Best Supporting Actress: Divya Dutta for Irada
Best Supporting Actor: Fahad Fazil for Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Best Child Artiste: Bhanita Das for Village

Best Popular Film:Baahubali: The Conclusion
Dada Saheb Phalke Award: Vinod Khanna
Best Action Direction:Baahubali 2
Best Choreography:Toilet: Ek Prem Katha (song: Gori Tu Latth Maar)
Best Special Effects:Baahubali: The Conclusion
Special Jury Award:Nagar Kirtan (Bengali)
Best Debut Film Of A Director:Sinjar (Jesari)
Best Short Film Fiction:Maiyat
Best Film On Family Values: Happy Birthday
Best Film for National Integration:Dhappa
Best Educational Film: The Girls We Were And The Women We Are
Best Anthropological Film: Name Place Animal ThingSlave Genesis
Best Cinematography: Eye TestDon

Best Adventure Film:Ladakh Chale Rickshaw Waale
Best Editing:Mrityubhoj
Best Music:Sword Of Liberty
Best Narration:The Lion Of Ladhakh
Best Book On Cinema: Matamgi Manipur
Best Critic On Cinema Award: Giridhar Jha, Special Mention to Sunil Mishra
Best Lyrics:March 22 (song: Mutthu Ratna)
Best Music Director: A R Rahman for Kaatru Veliyidai
Best Background Score: A R Rahman for MOM
Best Make-Up Artiste: Ram Razak for Nagar Kirtan
Best Costume: Govinda Mondal for Nagar Kirtan
Best Production Design: Santosh Rajan for Take Off
Best Editing:Village Rockstars
Best Sound Designer and Re-Recordist: Samuel George, Justin A Jose for Walking With The Film
Best On Location Sound Recordist:Unrserved

Best Location Sound: Mallika Das for Village Rockstars
Best Original Screenplay:Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Best Adapted Screenplay:Bhayankam
Best Playback Singer (Female): Shasha Tirupati for Vaan Varuvaan) from Kaatru Veliyidai
Best Playback Singer (Male): Yesudas for Poyi Maranja Kaalam from Viswasapoorvam Mansoor

Special Mention Awards:

Maurkhiya (Marathi)
Hello Arsi(Odiya)
Parvathy for Take Off (Malyalam)
Pankaj Tripathy for Newton

Best Regional Films Awards:
Best Hindi Film:Newton
Best Bengali Film: Mayurakshi
Best Ladakhi Film:Walking With The Wind
Best Tullu Film: Paddayi
Best Odiya Film:Hello Arsi
Best Marathi Film: Kaccha Nimbu
Best Malyalam Film:Thondimuthalum Driksakshiuam
Best Kannada Film:Hebbetu Ramakka

Best Jesari Film: Sinjar
Best Assamese Film: Ishu 
Best Tamil Film: To Let
Best Telugu Film:Ghazi
Best Gujarati Film:Dhh

About the author

Abhishek Rana

Since my early childhood, I’ve loved writing, watching movies and having an opinion. Now, I do it professionally. Always looking for new ways to challenge myself.

Leave a Comment