Salient features of No-fly list (To go with Mechanism instituted…)

The government on Friday instituted a mechanism to tackle increasing incidents of misbehaviour by passengers on flights. Following are the main provisions in the proposed ‘No Fly’ list.

The salient features of the mechanism to deal with unruly behaviour on-board flight are:

— Mechanism categorises unruly behaviour in three levels

— Level 1 mandates a ban of up to three months for unruly behaviour (verbal)

— Level 2 is for unruly behaviour (physical) and can result in debarring a person from flying for up to six months

— Level 3 is for life-threatening behaviour when debarment would be for a minimum of two years

— Complaint would be filed by the pilot-in-command

— Complaints to be probed by an internal committee set up by the concerned airline

— The committee to decide the matter within 30 days

— During pendency of the enquiry only concerned airline to impose ban

— An appeal against the ban can be filed

— An Appellate Committee will look at the appeals against the ban

— Airlines are required to share the No-Fly list with DGCA

— Unruly behaviour at airport premises to be dealt by security agencies.

About the author


IANS, also known as Indo-Asian News Service is a private news agency. IANS covers topics related to politics, entertainment, sports, general and world news etc.